INtelligent, Fast, Interconnected and Efficient devices for Frontier Exploitation in Research and Industry

FOR ASTROPHYSICS, MEDICAL PHYSICS AND PARTICLE PHYSICS

WP4: Massive Parallel Computing

You are here

small_leader-icon.png WP4 coordinators: 
Dave Newbold (Bristol, UK)     dave.newbold@cern.ch

small_webmaster.png WP4 webmaster: Franco Ligabue (Pisa) franco.ligabue@sns.it

 

WP4 is essential for our Astrophysics, HEP and Medical Physics applications:

  • The HLT of  large area terrestrial system will combine & appropriately handled the information from all the individual components (telescopes) of the network.

  • Innovative aspect for the Medical application includes a high level processing to treat the information delivered by the highly pixelated device in this case

  • HEP Level 1 Trigger will require matching the charged tracks with the calorimeters or the muon systems information in order to identify peculiar features of the interesting physical processes. This will mean developing and testing the use of new advanced PU technology.

  • This WP is closely related to the Massive Parallel Computing developments and confronting exascale challenges and to

  • Advanced Telecommunications Computing Architecture (ATCA): When the filtered information from the local data reduction arrives from the FE, it should be routed to the back-end processor (WP4).

      Indeed ATCA framework includes a series of specifications that incorporates the latest trends in high speed interconnect technologies, next generation processors and improved reliability, manageability and serviceability thus potentially attractive for our applications.






Participant

Org

Project

Primary Interest

Email

Rob Halshall (tbc)

STFC/RAL

SKA & CMS

High Level Fast Data processing systems

Fabrice.lemonnier@thalesgroup.com

Davide Cieri

STFC RAL (ESR)

CMS: Real time tracking algorithm development

to be specified

davide.cieri@stfc.ac.uk

Dave Newbold

UBRIS

CMS

HEP high level processing

dave.newbold@cern.ch

Ian O’Connor

CNRS/Ecole Centrale

Architecture Modelling

3D interconnect based systems

Ian.Oconnor@ec-lyon.fr Ian

Sebastien Lebeux

Ecole Centrale

Architecture Modelling

3D interconnect based systems

sebastien.le-beux@ec-lyon.fr

Bob Patti

Tezzaron

Related 3D V-I assembly

Interest to be specified

rpatti@tezzaron.com

Tim Greenshaw

ULIV

CTA Far-end Processing

Advanced FPGA’s new technologies

green@liverpool.ac.uk

David Berge

UvA

CTA Far-end Processing

Advanced FPGA’s new technologies

David.Berge@cern.ch

Jim Hinton

ULEIC

Interest to be specified

CTA Far-end Processing

Jim.Hinton@mpi-hd.mpg.de

Kristian Zarb-Adami

UOXF

SKA Far End Processing

Compare/choose novel PU technologies

Kristian.ZarbAdami@astro.ox.ac.uk

Aurore Savoy-Navarro

APC

SKA/HEP High level Process.

Compare/choose novel PU technologies

aurore.savoy.navarro@cern.ch

Ted H. Liu

FNAL

CMS

CMS track finder PU based on 3D V I techno

thliu@fnal.gov

Un-Ki Yang

SNU

Interest in CAM,otherPU

Interest to be conf./specified

ukyang@cern.ch

Giuseppina Bisogni

INFN

Med Img Far end process.

FPGA based demonstrator for PET

giuseppina.bisogni@pi.infn.it

Juan Jose Vaquero

UC3M

Med Img Far end process

Interest to be specified

juanjose.vaquero@uc3m.es

François Vasey

CERN

CMS Outer Tracker Trigger electronics and Versatile Link

Interest to be specified

francois.vasey@cern.ch

Rigoberto Chil

HGGM

Med Img Far end process

Interest to be specified

rchil@hggm.es

 

 

 

 

 

Partners & Coordinators

World_map_INFIERI-dots-CUT.png