INtelligent, Fast, Interconnected and Efficient devices for Frontier Exploitation in Research and Industry

FOR ASTROPHYSICS, MEDICAL PHYSICS AND PARTICLE PHYSICS

WP3: New Data Transmission Technos

You are here

small_leader-icon.png WP3 coordinators:
Ernesto Ciaramella (SSSA)     ernesto.ciaramella@sssup.it
Antonio Pellegrino (NIKHEF-FOM)     antonio@nikhef.nl

small_webmaster.png WP3 webmasters: Franco Ligabue (Pisa) franco.ligabue@sns.it
 

 

WP3 GOALS:

Transfer of data from detector modules to the far-end processors:

  • the specific problems in data transmission for typical length of connectivity ranging from a few tens of cm to about 100 m or more.
  • transversal-type of activity, which should support the other WP activities.
  • High-rate data transfer, in harsh environments are vital to future experiments => WP3 targets unprecedented transfer rates with low mass, radiation hard devices,
  • novel optical wireless communication, and,
  • given the large number of data links, their interconnectivity.

Electro-optical conversion and coupling to fibre-optics will be developed to integrate to the front-end.

The ITN will go beyond the state-of-the-art GBT chip under development at CERN (5 Gb/s) to reach the rates needed by LHCb (13 Gb/s) and beyond, requiring VDSM & efficient interconnection technologies also investigating the challenges in the other fields of interest of this project.

 

TECHNOLOGIES to be investigated by WP3:

1) New Si Photonics technologies, with novel Si multiplexing and light modulators, combining the speed of photonics with the functionality and CMOS fabrication techniques of electronics.

2) Radio wireless links with extremely high frequency technology. This relies on VDSM techno, low power 60 GHz transceivers as well as compact low mass directional antennas for 60 GHz.

3) Optimized systems based on Wavelength Division Multiplexing (WDM), able to transmit high speed data fluxes, possibly using advanced modulation formats and detection schemes.

4) Advanced optical fibre sensor technologies for distributed and discrete monitoring of various parameters (strains, temperature, humidity, pressure etc.), in harsh environments

5) Advanced Optical wireless communication (OWC) system solutions, using either visible or infrared for high data rate transmission, as a viable alternative to RF wireless for reliable and rapid Deployment.

 

The latency problem is crucial for both HEP and Astrophysics and will be also part of the training and developments of this project.

Participant

Org

Email

Antonio Pellegrino NIKHEF antonio@nikhef.nl
Martin Van Beuzekom NIKHEF martinb@nikhef.nl
Francois Vasey CERN francois.vasey@cern.ch 
ESR (tba) NIKHEF  
Manuel Desco UC3M manuel.desco@uc3m.es
Mónica Abella UC3M monica.abella@uc3m.es
Claudia de Molina UC3M claudia.molina@uc3m.es
Jorge Ripoll UC3M jorge.ripoll@uc3m.es
Juan Felipe Pérez-Juste UC3M juanfelipe.perez-juste@uc3m.es
Lorena Cussó UC3M lorena.cusso@uc3m.es
Javier Pascau UC3M javier.pascau@uc3m.es
Rigoberto Chil UC3M rigoberto.chil@uc3m.es
Juan José Vaquero UC3M juanjose.vaquero@uc3m.es
Georgios Konstantinou UC3M georgios.konstantinou@uc3m.es
María del Rosario Vázquez UC3M mrvazque@ing.uc3m.es
Garret Cotter Oxford garret@astro.ox.ac.uk
Jason Watson Oxford jason.watson@physics.ox.ac.uk
M. Artiglia CNIT/SSSA

massimo.artiglia@virgilio.it

G. Cossu SSSA g.cossu@sssup.it
R. Corsini SSSA

r.corsini@sssup.it

E. Ciaramella SSSA e.ciaramella@sssup.it
M. Presi SSSA m.presi@sssup.it
G. Prati SSSA g.prati@sssup.it
Ali Wajhat SSSA ali.wajahat@sssup.it

 

Partners & Coordinators

World_map_INFIERI-dots-CUT.png